Mad Men

I’ve been watching the first season of the TV drama ‘Mad Men’ this past week, and enjoying its world of a 1960 Madison Avenue advertising agency.  I wasn’t around then, so I can’t vouch for how ‘realistic’ the show is (though it does seem to be quite thorough in the period props and trappings), but it does feature strong writing and characters.  Jon Hamm as the creative director Don Draper is very good.  Early episodes feature nearly continuous cigarette smoking, which starts to ebb a little as the season goes on.

I think what’s interesting about the show is that it looks sort of like some shows that I watched when I was young, like say the ‘Dick Van Dyke Show’, but this one is in vivid color, exposing the sides of the characters that you know were there but never got to see.

Trackbacks are closed, but you can post a comment.

Comments

  • oakhill193  On May 12, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    I haven’t seen the show but I heard great things about it. A lot of people commented on the quality reproduction and character styles. A lot of people except our friend’s dad, Big Ron. He hated it. Then again, he hates a lot of stuff.

  • MRVEGAS  On May 17, 2009 at 5:19 pm

    Curt – I also watched the first season and got hooked – love the opening and Don draper is great. the whole look of the show really drew me in…

  • Curt  On May 17, 2009 at 5:47 pm

    I thought the writing got a little predictable toward the end of the first season, but it finished strong, and I’m looking forward to seeing season 2!

Leave a Reply

