Celebration in Berlin

Jeff Koons - Celebration in Berlin
A few weeks back I was in Berlin for a quick weekend visit, and one of the things I saw there was the Jeff Koons Celebration show at the Neue Nationalgalerie (a famous modern building in its own right, architect Mies van der Rohe). The show consists of 11 large pieces, spread out around the ground floor. No photos were allowed inside, but I took a few from the windows.

I couldn’t get a good shot of the one I liked best, which can be seen above in the background – the tulips. (I do kind of like the way I got the two walking feet below the heart above – just a coincidence!).

In this show I was reminded of Warhol’s comment about being all on the surface… these pieces are all surface as well. Most of them are big and shiny and hollow, nothing inside. But who doesn’t like big shiny things? How often do we find that the anticipation of the wrapped present is sweeter than the gift inside?

After the show I saw this ‘waving cat’ in the window of a souvenir shop, and it seemed to fit the same aesthetic – I wish Koons would make a big one of these!

Trackbacks are closed, but you can post a comment.

Leave a Reply

