Slacker (1991)

Slacker

I’ve been watching the DVD of ‘Slacker’ made by Richard Linklater in Austin, Texas, shot back in the summer of 1989. I saw the film when it came out in 1991, and while I liked the idea of it at the time, I felt the movie itself was so-so. I haven’t seen it since, and now I find that I like the film much more. It’s a great snapshot of a time that seems to be receding fast, but it’s also a very artful film. There are very few edits, so the style fits the subject. The film looks good too, it doesn’t appear low budget, perhaps because so many low budget films came after it. I loved the rant from the scene shown above, which amidst the talk of aliens and such, the guy in the batman shirt warns of the greenhouse effect and global ecological catastrophe.

So check out the Criterion Collection DVD of ‘Slacker’!

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
