An Inconvenient Truth (2006)

Saw the Al Gore powerpoint show the other day, and I thought he did a pretty good job of presenting the material without going over the top in alarmism. I know some critics have said he presents some data as more certain than it really is, and perhaps that’s the case, I don’t know.

What surprises me about the folks who “don’t go for” this whole global warming thing are several points; (1) they seem to think that doing anything at all will ‘destroy the economy’, (2) and that government can’t really do anything right anyway, and (3) that the market will sort it all out. Not quite a coherent position.

While I believe that some skepticism about climate models and human causation are in order, I do believe that there are government policies that could do some good at attempting to lessen the potential impacts of warming. For instance, not subsidizing housing built in low-lying, hurricane prone areas. Studying warming impacts on agriculture and disease. And increasing fuel standards and/or imposing a carbon tax.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
