The System of the World – Neal Stephenson (2004)


Finally! I made it to the end of Neal Stephenson‘s Baroque Cycle, spending a few weeks on The System of the World (sometimes I think I spend more time reading Stephenson than he does writing these books! the full handwritten manuscript shown above). In any case, I felt it was time well spent.This volume concentrates on Daniel Waterhouse, who had pretty much dropped out of the story after the first book of Quicksilver. He is in London in 1713-14, and he is in the middle of momentous events of all sorts that bring many plot threads to conclusion. As I suspected, the story hinges (in part) on Isaac Newton at the Mint. While I found the first third of the book a little slow, the latter two thirds rolled along nicely.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.
